Life of a Peasant During The Black Plague

Factual Fiction Journal of the Black Plague: Charles Young

Opal A Roszell
12 min readApr 29, 2021
Photo by Lisa from Pexels

Intro

Accurate historical account of the Black Plague and its devastation throughout the world. Still to this day, a few causes of concern arise each year. This fictional yet factual read will give you insight into the everyday life of the people that lived during the Black Death. Europe, Africa and Asian cultures left devastated. It was impacting millions.

Winter 1349

Journal Entry 1

It is raining and cold. My newfound silk scarf, wet, dripping and faded with mud, is draped around my neck and face in an attempt to protect myself from the splatter of people passing by. The scarf is the only thing I own of any value. I suspect that it will be my last day to admire the colours as I fear my arrival time. People around me are ill. Very sick, coughing and splattering. Some even spit up blood — others with dark black spots on their skin. I am thinking about joining the travellers heading East in hopes of fleeing from this infected witchcraft land. People are saying that the witch cats have spread this sickness.

I don’t know anything other than hunger and trying to find a crack in the streets to rest. Somewhere away from the rats. Last week a rat…

--

--

Opal A Roszell

Inspiring Social & Emotional Competency in Online Communities. Savouring the Flavour of Life. Website Content & Document Creator 4 Hire >+< Follow Me @opaliving